Look Where you are going!!!

I learned to ride a bike when I was about 5 so I’ve been ‘on two wheels’ for about 14 years as of writing and there’s something I want to share with you that has made me crash, stopped me from crashing and helped me to run an ultramarathon among other worthwhile accomplishments. 


If you look at the above picture then you will notice that my eyes are looking forward I am focused on where I want to go I’m looking down the trail to where I want to end up in a few seconds. 

I’m not looking back, I’m not looking 6 miles up the trail I’m looking at what’s right in front of me. 

I’m maintaining a deadly level of focus on what’s right in front of me. 

This way this relates to training and life in a broader sense is that so often people will tell you that they are mega committed to one thing and then you see them doing something that is completely unrelated.

I’m all for having fun, infact I think it’s one of the most important aspects of any training program. I’m also all for focus and I know what when I’m out on the trail of ok bombing down a rough section if downhill and I let my gaze slide then I’m going to fall. 

Not all tasks demand as much focus as riding a mountain bike down the side of a rough hillside at speed but what I would say is that to do better, which is all we ever can do, it is going to prove to be a massive benefit of we can focus on the task at hand as opposed to everything else. 

How can we get better at doing this? St developing focus? 

Here is one tip that I have learned and frequently come back to when I find myself getting ‘lost’ so to speak.

  • Breathe Deeply into the pit of my belly. 

That’s it, it calms me and from an biological point of view of you were to dive into the science, this while simple is one of the best ways to unfetter your mind and focus on the task at hand whether that’s a 1RM Deadlift or having a conversation with s close friend. 

The breath will bring you back to the present moment. 

Courage, Joy and Love ❤️ 

Jase 🙂 

Author: Jason "Wrecker" Woods

Dedicated to development.

Leave a Reply

